About The Quorum Report


The Quorum is a non-partisan newsletter focusing on Texas politics and government. Founded in 1983, QR is Texas' oldest political newsletter. Former editors for Quorum Report include founders Tim Richardson and Scott Bennett. Hilary Hylton held the reins briefly until current publisher and editor Harvey Kronberg came on board in 1989.

The Quorum Report was an early implementer of the internet. We "went live" in 1998. QR pioneered the power of the Internet to evolve into a multi-dimensional news, information and gossip source for the politically involved. Published online the newsletter combines fast breaking news along with institutional memory and a healthy skepticism as befits a publication whose subscribers include most of Texas' elected officials, most of the lobby as well as most law firms and public relations firms with a legislative practice.

Currently, the publication includes the Daily Buzz, News Clips, the R&D Department and a Calendar of Political Events.

The Daily Buzz is exactly what it sounds like -- a mix of news and analysis that has the political community buzzing that day. The Buzz is roughly 50% free and 50% password protected for subscribers.

The News Clips is best described as the three dozen or so news stories that political professionals NEED to see each day. Combed from state and national publications, the NewsClips provide a convenient executive summary of the day's news stories. Subscribers can hit the link and be taken directly to the story itself.

The R&D Department features regular columnists including (in no special order):

Bee Moorhead & Miryam Bujanda
Jennifer Patterson and Regina M. Buono
Bill Grusendorf
Jim Dunnam and Larry Taylor
Commissioner Elizabeth Ames Jones
Joe Nixon
Debra Medina
John Coppedge, MD
Drew Scheberle
Ken McCraw
Ed Sills
Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson
Edd O'Donnell
Mark McCaig
Thomas Ratliff
Michael Quinn Sullivan
Tom Banning
Pati Jacobs
Tom Pauken
Phillip Martin
Trey Martinez Fischer
Rafael Anchia
Jack Gullarhorn
Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock
Jared Woodfill
Robert Howden
Scott Hochberg
Royal Masset
Quorum Report
Scott Braddock

Each writes from their own unique perspective in Texas politics. In addition, you will find guest columns in the R&D Department as well as the occasional document that deserves complete reprinting.

The Calendar is a listing of dates and events of interest to the political community.

Writer, editor, publisher and chief bottle washer Harvey Kronberg has been covering Texas politics since 1989. He also serves as political commentator for Time Warner Cable News -- a 24 hour news channel serving central Texas. He has been cited in publications as diverse as The Congressional Quarterly, The Wall Street Journal, The Dallas Morning News, The Houston Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor and more.

Former Lt. Governor Bob Bullock called editor Kronberg "the Capitol's most astute observer."